Local windmills, the old village school and the Zeppelin raid of 1916 will all feature as part of a free exhibition telling the history of Scartho at St Giles’ Large Hall, Scartho on Saturday, October 23, 10:30am to 3pm.
The exhibition, called Vikings, Normans and Zeppelins, will also examine the changing pattern of land ownership in Scartho. After the Norman Conquest much of the land in the village was granted to William the Conqueror’s half-brother, Odo, but by the 18th century the biggest landowners in the parish included Trinity College (Cambridge), the Earl of Yarborough and the Tennyson family.
Scartho is not just another suburb of Grimsby; it has a long and rich history of its own. The name of the village is of Viking origin, the church tower is one of the oldest buildings in North East Lincolnshire and the village was subjected to a bombing raid during the First World WarAdrian Wilkinson, Archivist, Lincs Inspire
The exhibition is part of the ongoing project Streets and Their Stories led by Lincs Inspire Libraries and North East Lincolnshire Archives, supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund. It's open to all and free to attend.