Summer Reading Challenge

The Summer Reading Challenge is an initiative organised by The Reading Agency to encourage children to read during the summer holidays.   

The challenge entails children to borrow and read six or more books or audio books from any of our libraries (Cleethorpes, Grimsby, Waltham or Immingham) during the summer. Each time a child returns a book, they will receive a sticker or prize. To celebrate completing the challenge, every child will receive a medal, certificate and an invitation to the celebration party at the Grimsby Auditorium on Sunday, 29th September. 
 

  • Register from 13th July at any of our libraries
  • Start the challenge on Saturday, 20th July
  • Read six books or more by the end date of Saturday, 14th September

During the summer holidays we will host a number of free activities and events to support the Challenge

Talk about the books you are reading for the challenge and get recommendations from the staff and other fun activities.
 
Monday 29th July, Immingham Library, 10am to 12 noon, 2pm to 4pm

Tuesday 30th July, Cleethorpes Library, 10am to 12 noon, 2pm to 4pm

Wednesday 31st July, Waltham Library, 10am to 12 noon, 2pm to 4pm

Thursday 1st August, Grimsby Library, 10am to 12 noon, 2pm to 4pm

Monday 12th August, Immingham Library, 10am to 12 noon

Tuesday 13th August, Cleethorpes Library, 10am to 12 noon

Wednesday 14th August, Waltham Library, 10am to 12 noon

Thursday 15th August, Grimsby Library, 10am to 12 noon 

Monday 19th August, Immingham Library, 10am to 12 noon, 2pm to 4pm

Tuesday 20th August, Cleethorpes Library, 10am to 12 noon, 2pm to 4pm

Wednesday 21st August, Waltham Library, 10am to 12 noon, 2pm to 4pm

Thursday 22nd  August, Grimsby Library, 10am to 12 noon, 2pm to 4pm

 

Crafts based around the Space Chase; make model aliens, robots or spaceships. The drop-in sessions have enough to entertain children for about 30-45 minutes

Monday 5th August, 10am to 12 noon and 2pm to 4pm, Immingham Library

Tuesday 6th August, 10am to 12 noon and 2pm to 4pm, Cleethorpes Library

Wednesday 7th August, 10am to 12 noon and 2pm to 4pm, Waltham Library

Thursday 8th August, 10am to 12 noon and 2pm to 4pm, Grimsby Library

 

An abridged performance of War of the Worlds by HG Wells with music and reading by the library band Bookstock

Monday 12th August, 2pm to 3pm, Immingham Library 

Tuesday 13th August, 2pm to 3pm, Cleethorpes Library

Wednesday 14th August, 2pm to 3pm, Waltham Library

Thursday 15th August, 2pm to 3pm, Grimsby Library

Come along make some funky spinning flying saucers, woolly aliens, UFO’s and much more space themed crafts!

Tuesday 27th August, 2pm to 4pm, Cleethorpes Library

Wednesday 28th August, 2pm to 4pm, Waltham Library

Thursday 29th August, 2pm to 4pm, Immingham Library

Friday 30th August, 2pm to 4pm, Grimsby Library

 

 

 

Back

Summer Passes
Swim Pass
Active Junior Pass
Mini Active Pass

Holiday Swimming Timetables
Cleethorpes Leisure Centre
Grimsby Leisure Centre
Immingham Swimming Pool

Lincs Inspire App
Download our App from the Google Play Store or App Store to view our pool timetables and holiday activities

Summer Reading Challenge
‘Space Race’ is inspired by the 50th year anniversary of the moon landings. Borrow and read 6 books.

Shake, Rattle and Read
Stories, songs, music and movement perfect for your child

Little Readers
Free drop in sessions with play, stories, songs and crafts

Holiday Activity E-Newsletter
Get a round up of all our holiday activities taking place direct to your inbox

Sign up